"Elvis:The King In The Ring" Record Store Day Release


Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, announced its most ambitious line-up of collectible releases for Record Store Day, to be released Saturday, April 21, 2018.

Sony will release Elvis Presley, The King In The Ring in a double LP on red vinyl which will be individually numbered.

Elvis Presley re-established himself as The King of Rock and Roll with ELVIS, the widely-seen “comeback special” broadcast on NBC at the end of 1968. The show’s many highlights included laid-back live performances recorded in the round before a small audience and featuring a powerful ensemble—including guitarist Scotty Moore and drummer D.J. Fontana, both part of Elvis’ original, classic backing band. To celebrate the 50th anniversary of ELVIS, both electrifying, intimate “sit-down” sets will be released on vinyl for the first time in an individually numbered 2LP package with a newly created gatefold sleeve, pressed on red vinyl. The history of Presley’s amazing “comeback special” is told in Elvis Presley: The Searcher, the new documentary premiering April 14 on HBO.

Along with the Elvis release Sony will have a total of 29 releases on 7” and 12” vinyl as well as cassette, this extraordinary collection of titles is Legacy’s largest release slate in 11 years of celebrating Record Store Day with independent record retailers across the globe.

These exclusive releases celebrate some of the greatest acts in pop, rock, R&B, hip-hop, country and jazz, including Johnny Cash, Jimi Hendrix, Bruce Springsteen, Pink Floyd, The Allman Brothers Band, Jeff Buckley, Eurythmics, Van Morrison & Joey DeFrancesco, Rage Against The Machine, Uncle Tupelo, Bob Dylan & The Grateful Dead, Johnny Mathis, Wu-Tang Clan, Aaliyah, Soul Asylum, Marvin Gaye, Thelonious Monk and many more.

Record Store Day was conceived in 2007 at a gathering of independent record store owners and employees as a way to celebrate and spread the word about the unique culture surrounding nearly 1400 independently owned record stores in the U.S. and thousands of similar stores internationally. This year, Run The Jewels has been named as Record Store Day’s Official Ambassador.

To locate your nearest participating RSD shop, please visit http://www.recordstoreday.com/Stores

Track List:

1 Heartbreak Hotel
2 Baby What You Want Me To Do
3 Introductions 8pm
4 That's All Right
5 Are You Lonesome Tonight?
6 Baby What You Want Me To Do
7 Blue Suede Shoes
8 One Night
9 Love Me
10 Trying To Get To You
11 Lawdy Miss Clawdy
12 Santa Claus Is Back In Town
13 Blue Christmas
14 Tiger Man
15 When My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again
16  Memories

SOURCE: Elvis The Music